What is Considered the Holy Land?

What is Considered the Holy Land?

The Holy Land (Eretz HaKodesh in Hebrew) is the territory between the Jordan River and the Mediterranean Sea. If you overlay it on a modern-day map, you will see that it stretches from Egypt to Syria, including Israel and Palestine, Western Jordan, the Sinai Peninsula in Egypt, Lebanon and Southern Syria.

The Holy Land is considered a sacred place by many Christians, Jews and Muslims. The holiness of this territory stems from the belief that this is where God first interacted with humans and where Jesus spent his short years on Earth and performed his miracles and the sacrifice.

Places of Interest in the Holy Land

Pilgrims have been visiting the Holy Land for hundreds of years guided by the Bible. Here are a few places of significance they often stop at:

  • Mount Sinai
  • Garden of Gethsemane
  • Mount of Beatitudes
  • Golgotha Hill
  • Mount of Olives
  • Temple Mount (Dome of the Rock)
  • The Wailing Wall
  • The Church of the Nativity
  • The Garden Tomb

The items in our Franciscan Monastery gift shop come from Bethlehem, the birth place of Jesus, and support the people and the shrines of the Holy Land.

2015-11-19T21:38:33-05:00 November 19th, 2015|Categories: Holy Land, Uncategorized|Comments Off on What is Considered the Holy Land?